MN Lakes Association Home

Deer Lake Association
A member of the Minnesota Lakes Association



The Margaret Brown

Lake Stewardship Award


Once per year, the Deer Lake Association honors a person, couple, family, or organization who has made a substantial commitment to maintain or improve Deer Lake water quality or quality of life.  DLA established the award in 2017 at the request of the Brown family, in loving memory of Margaret “Peg” Brown. 


Peg and her family first came to Deer Lake in 1951.   For the next sixty-five years, she came to Deer Lake every summer.  Peg loved the lake with a special passion.  In her honor, the Margaret Brown Lake Stewardship Award is now given to recognize others with the same passion and concern for Deer Lake.   



Margaret Brown

Lake Stewardship Award



2017:  Janna and Steve Nemeth


2018:  Elise and Doug Widen


2019:  Barb and Bob Baker


2019:  Trish and Jim Bogenrief


2020:  Ginny and Lew Johnston


2021:  Diana and Herb Lieffring


2021:  David and Margaret Duxbury


2022: Two Honorees:

Camp Hiawatha

DLA President John Davis